HRON

Links to sections on this page:

Background

Goals

Activities

Membership

Background


The AIDS and Hepatitis C Programs of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC) provide funding, policy direction and monitoring for a number of harm reduction programs and services in Ontario. The goal of harm reduction programs are to reduce harms associated with drug use, in order to prevent the transmission of HIV, hepatitis C (HCV) and hepatitis B (HBV), and facilitate access to care and treatment services for people who use drugs.  

The AIDS and Hepatitis C Programs fund the Harm Reduction Outreach Program and sixteen Hepatitis C Teams, all of which have harm reduction outreach workers who work directly with people who use drugs. The Harm Reduction Outreach Program was evaluated in 2012-2013, with one of the key recommendations being the need for more formalized support and sharing of resources amongst harm reduction outreach workers. As a result, MOHLTC staff recommended the establishment of the Harm Reduction Outreach Network (HRON), which is overseen by the Ontario Harm Reduction Network (OHRN).

Goals


The goals of HRON include: 

1. To provide harm reduction outreach workers with formal opportunities to communicate with one another about current trends, challenges and successes; 

2. To increase collaboration and sharing of resources amongst harm reduction outreach workers; 

3. To enhance the skills and practices of harm reduction outreach workers. 

Activities


Sharing experiences and learning from other program sites to assist harm reduction outreach workers in not having to ‘re-create the wheel’. 

Primary activities of HRON include: 

  • Facilitating discussion around current trends and program challenges and successes; 
  • Increasing networking among the harm reduction outreach workers; 
  • Sharing of guidelines, protocols and policies to assist harm reduction outreach workers in enhancing their programs; and 
  • Sharing of relevant and consistent harm reduction information with the harm reduction outreach workers that can be shared, where appropriate, with peers and people who use injection drugs. 

 

Membership


HRON is comprised of harm reduction outreach workers, or people with similar titles, that are in MOHLTC funded positions as part of either the Harm Reduction Outreach Program or Hepatitis C Teams. These positions are typically housed at AIDS Service Organizations or Community Health Centres. 

Members are expected to:  

  • Attend regular meetings (3 web meetings and one in-person conference per year); 
  • Bring forward agenda items and topics for discussion;  
  • Be actively engaged in discussions and the sharing of relevant information; 
  • Review materials provided to them; and 
  • Liaise between HRON and their organization.
Agency Website
AIDS Committee of Cambridge/Kitchener/Waterloo/Area www.acckwa.com
AIDS Committee of Durham Region www.aidsdurham.com
AIDS Committee of North Bay and Area www.aidsnorthbay.com
AIDS Committee of Windsor www.aidswindsor.org
AIDS Committee of York Region www.acyr.org
Black CAP www.black-cap.com
Carea Community Health Centre www.careachc.ca
Elevate NWO www.elevatenwo.org
Gilbert Centre for Social and Support Services www.gilbertcentre.ca
HARP at Group Health Centre www.ghc.on.ca
Hamilton Public Health & Community Services www.hamilton.ca/public-health/clinics-services
HIV/AIDS Regional Services www.hars.ca
HIV/AIDS Resources and Community Health www.archguelph.ca
John Howard Society of Durham Region www.johnhoward.on.ca/durham
Kingston Community Health Centres www.kchc.ca/home
London Intercommunity Health Centre www.lihc.on.ca
Niagara Health System www.niagarahealth.on.ca/site/home
North Lambton Community Health Centre  www.nlchc.com
Ontario Aboriginal HIV/AIDS Strategy www.oahas.org
Parkdale Queen West Community Health Centres  www.pqwchc.org
Peel HIV/AIDS Network www.phan.ca
Peterborough AIDS Resource Network www.parn.ca
Porcupine Health Unit www.porcupinehu.on.ca
Positive Living Niagara www.positivelivingniagara.com
Prisoners with HIV/AIDS Support Action Network www.pasan.org
Regent Park CHC: Toronto Community Hep C Program www.regentparkchc.org
Regent Park Community Health Centre  www.regentparkchc.org
Regional HIV/AIDS Connection www.hivaidsconnection.ca
Réseau Access Network www.reseauaccessnetwork.com
Oasis Program at Sandy Hill Community Health Centre www.shchc.ca/programs/oasis
Sanguen Health Centre www.sanguen.com
Sherbourne Health Centre www.sherbourne.on.ca
Sioux Lookout First Nations Health Authority  www.slfnha.com
Somerset West Community Health Centre www.swchc.on.ca
South Riverdale Community Health Centre www.srchc.ca
Street Health Centre: Kingston Community Health Centres www.kchc.ca/street-health-centre
Sudbury Action Centre For Youth www.sacy.ca
Syme-Woolner Neighbourhood and Family Centre www.symewoolner.org
The AIDS Network www.aidsnetwork.ca
The Ottawa Hospital www.ottawahospital.on.ca
The Works, City of Toronto Public Health www.toronto.ca/community-people
Unison Health and Community Services www.unisonhcs.org
Warden Woods Community Centre www.wardenwoods.com
Wayside House of Hamilton www.waysidehouse.ca
Bloom Clinic at Wellfort Community Health Services www.bloomclinic.ca
Windsor-Essex Community Health Centre www.wechc.org